Chonnam National University (CNU)

Chonnam National University (CNU) is a university in Gwangju, South Korea. It was founded in 1952 as the flagship national university for the southwestern region of Korea. In March 2006, Yeosu National University merged with Chonnam National University to become a satellite campus. CNU ranked the 10th nationwide and the 420th worldwide in world university rankings in the CWUR (Center for World University Rankings). It was also the 1st among the nine Korean national flagship universities in “Asia’s Top 75 Most Innovative Universities” in 2017 Reuters. CNU has also expanded its global reach by establishing partnerships with 499 Universities in 62 countries as of 2019.

CNU now offers courses in major areas of academic studies with 16 colleges and 11 graduate schools. It has two main campuses, one in Gwangju Metropolitan City and the other in the City of Yeosu. CNU also has two medical campuses and four university teaching hospitals. With more than 1,700 full-time professors, it now is a home to 35,000 students including 2,000 international students from 75 different countries. Each year, 500 international exchange students come to study at CNU, and it sends some 600 CNU students to various sister universities around the world.