Beihang University

Beihang is the first university in China focusing on aeronautical and astronautical education and research.

Since its founding, Beihang has excelled as one of the first 16 key universities in China, given priority for development. In 2017, Beihang was chosen to participate in the Double First-Class plan, which includes major support from the Chinese Ministry of Education and other government departments to build a world-class university with world-class disciplines. Over the past 65 years, Beihang has fostered more than 180,000 professionals in various sectors for the world. The main designers and chief engineers of China’s first manned space flight, Shengzhou-5 Spacecraft, are Beihang alumni. The university and its alumni have contributed the most to the country’s aeronautical, astronautical and other relative industries.

At present, the university comprises more than 30 schools/colleges, covering science, technology, medicine, liberal arts, law, economy, management, philosophy, foreign languages and education. It has 2,172 full-time faculty members, 83.60% of which have doctorates. Among them are 23 academicians of either the Chinese Academy of Sciences or the Chinese Academy of Engineering, 27 members of the Recruitment Program for Innovative Talents of the Recruitment Program of Global Experts, 31 chief scientists of the 973 Program, 67 Changjiang Scholars, 52 winners of the National Science Fund for Distinguished Young Scholars, 3 national distinguished teachers, 58 members of the Recruitment Program for Young Professionals of the Thousand Talents Plan and 52 winners of the Excellent Young Scientists Fund.


CLubIT logo